Pre-AP Biology Calendar
Wednesday August 16
Class Intro

Thursday August 17

Lab Safety Video & Contract

Friday August 18
Lab Equipment ID Lab - Due 8/22

Monday August 21
Solar Eclipse Day

Tuesday August 22
Safety Quiz
Introduction to Metric System

Wednesday August 23
Pre-AP Biology Pre-Test

Thursday August 24
Metric System Practice

Friday August 25
Metric System Quiz
Unit 1 Notes

Monday August 28

​Unit 1 Notes
​Homework

Tuesday August 29
​Unit 1 Notes

Wednesday August 30
Homeostasis Lab

Thursday August 31
Chapter 1 Review

Friday September 1
Unit 1 Exam

Tuesday September 5
2.2 Notes & Discussion - Properties of water

Wednesday September 6
2.2 Notes & Discussion continued

Thursday September 7
Complete 2.2 Notes & Discussion
pH practice worksheet
Property of water demonstration

Friday September 8
2.3 Notes & Discussion - Macromolecules
Carbohydrates Review - Due 9/20

Monday September 11
Macromolecules (cont.)

Tuesday September 12
Notes 2.3

Wednesday September 13
Graphic Organizer

Thursday September 14
Bozeman Science Video - Macromolecules
Food Label Activity

Friday September 15
Macromolecules Activity

Monday September 18
2.5 Notes Enzymes
Enzymes Review - Due 9/20

Tuesday September 19
Enzyme Virtual Lab

Wednesday September 20
Grading Day - Macromolecule Review & Enzyme Review

Thursday September 21
Demo Day - water/penny, jello & pineapple, water meniscus
Grade Food Label Activity

Friday September 22
Unit 2 Review

Monday September 25
Unit 2 Test

Tuesday September 26
3.1 Notes
The wacky history of cell theory - Due 9/28

Wednesday September 27
3.2 Notes
Organelles Worksheet - Due 10/2

Thursday September 28
3.2 Notes Cont.

Friday September 29
Intro to Microscopes

Monday October 2
Microscope Quiz
Microscope Practice 
Grade Organelles Worksheet

Tuesday October 3
Microscope Lab

Wednesday October 4
Microscope Lab - Due 10/6

Thursday October 5
Redi's Experiment Worksheet

Friday October 6
Cell and Cell Structure App

Monday October 9
3.3 Notes

Tuesday October 10
Chapter 3.4 Notes
Unit 2 Test Review & Reflection

Wednesday October 11
Diffusion Lab Set-up

Thursday October 12
Diffusion Lab Results - Due 10/13

Friday October 13
Chapter 3.5 Notes
Osmosis Worksheet - Due 10/16

Monday October 16
Unit 3 Review

Tuesday October 17
Unit 3 Test

Wednesday October 18
ACT Prep

Tuesday October 24

3.4 Notes - Tonicity
Cells and Their Environment Worksheet Due 10/25

Wednesday October 25
Grade Cells and their Environment Worksheet

Thursday October 26
Tonicity Quiz
Begin Ch. 5.1 Notes

Friday October 27
Ch. 5.1 Notes

Monday October 30
Cell Size Lab

Tuesday October 31
Ch. 5.2 Notes

Wednesday November 1
Online Onion Root Tip Lab

Thursday November 2

Chapter 5.3 Notes
Cancer Worksheet - Due 11/3

Friday November 3
Test Review

Monday November 6
Chapter 5.1, 5.2, 5.3 Test

Tuesday November 7
Unit 4 - Ch. 4.1

Wednesday November 8
Chapter 4.2
Photosynthesis Diagrams Worksheet - Due 11/10

Thursday November 9
Chromotography Lab - Due 11/10

Friday November 10
Waterweed Simulation Lab - Due 11/13
Grade Photosynthesis Diagrams Worksheet

Monday November 13
Photosynthesis Review

Tuesday November 14
Chapter 4.4 Notes

Wednesday November 15
Snail/Elodea Demo Lab
Grade Photosynthesis and Cell Energy Worksheet

Thursday November 16 
Review
Snail/Elodea Results
Photosynthesis and Cellular Rspiration Diagrams Worksheet

Friday November 17
Unit 4 Test

Monday November 27
Ch. 4.6 Notes

Tuesday November 28
Fermentation practice

Wednesday November 29
Fermentation Quiz

Thursday November 30
Ch. 8.1 Notes
DNA History Timeline - Due 12/1

Friday December 1
History of DNA Worksheet

Monday December 4
Ch. 8.2 Notes

Tuesday December 5
DNA Modeling

Wednesday December 6
Review

Thursday December 7
8.1 & 8.2 Test

Friday December 8
ACT Prep

Wednesday January 3
Ch. 8.3 Notes
DNA Worksheet - Due 1/17

Thursday January 4 
Ch. 8.3 Notes

Friday January 5
Ch. 8.4 Notes

Monday January 8
Ch. 8.5 Notes

Tuesday January 9
Modeling Lab

Wednesday January 10
CHNOPS Activity - Due 1/11
Review Worksheet - Due 1/11

Thursday January 11
Grade DNA Worksheet and Review Worksheet

Friday January 12
8.3, 8.4, 8.5 Test

Tuesday January 16
Ch. 8.7 Notes

Wednesday January 17
DNA Mutations WS - Due 1/18

Thursday January 18
Amoeba Sisters Video and WS - Due 1/18

Friday January 19
Mutations Quiz

Monday January 22
Bioethics Project

Tuesday January 23
Bioethics Presentations

Wednesday January 24
9.1 and 9.2 Notes

Thursday January 25

9.3 Notes
DNA Fingerprinting WS - Due 1/26

Friday January 26
DNA Fingerprinting Analysis Web Quest - Due 1/30

Monday January 29
DNA Fingerprinting Analysis Web Quest

Tuesday January 30
9.4 Notes

Wednesday January 31
Bacterial Transformation, Recombinant DNA & Transgenic Organisms - Due 2/5

Thursday February 1
9.5 and 9.6 Notes

Friday February 2
Review for Test - Mrs. Kiggins out of town
Use Study Guides under the Information tab to study for test

Monday February 5
Unit 5C (Ch. 9 Biotechnology) Test

Tuesday February 6
Ch. 6.1 Notes

Wednesday February 7
Ch. 6.2 Notes
Haploid/Diploid Practice Worksheet - Due 2/13

Thursday February 8
Meiosis Modeling Lab - Due 2/13

Friday February 9
Meiosis Modeling Lab cont.

Monday February 12
Ch. 6.6 and 5.4 Notes

Tuesday February 13
Review Worksheet - Due 2/14
Grade Haploid/Diploid Practice Worksheet

Wednesday February 14
Grade Review Worksheet

Thursday February 15
Ch. 6.1, 6.2, 6.6, & 5.4 Test

Tuesday February 20
Ch. 6.3 Notes

Wednesday February 21

Thursday February 22

Friday February 23
Ch. 6.4 Notes
Pungent Squares Practice Worksheet - in class
Vocabulary Worksheet - Due 2/26
Genetics Practice Problem Set - Due 2/27

Monday February 26
Human Traits Wheel - Due 2/27

Tuesday February 27
Ch. 6.5 Notes
Probability Practice Worksheet - Due 2/28

Wednesday February 28
Probability Practice Worksheet - due at end of class

Thursday March 1
Emoji Lab - Due 3/5

Friday March 2
Review

Monday March 5
Ch. 6.3, 6.4, & 6.5 Test

Tuesday March 6
Junior Science Exam Prep

Wednesday March 7
Ch. 7.1 Notes
X-linked Calico Car Practice WS - in class
Genetics Practice WS #1-3 - Due 3/8

Thursday March 8
Ch. 7.2 Notes
Genetics Practice WS #4-13 - Due 3/9

Friday March 9
Ch. 7.4 Notes
Pedigree Chart - Due 3/12

Monday March 12
Pedigree Lab - Due 3/14

Tuesday March 13
Karyotyping Lab - Due 3/14

Wednesday March 14
Review

Thursday March 15
Ch. 7.1, 7.2 & 7.4 Test

Monday March 26
Ch. 13.1 and 13.2 Notes
Keystone Species Postcard - Due 3/30

Tuesday March 27
Ch. 13.3 and 13.4 Notes

Wednesday March 28
Ch. 13.6 Notes

Thursday March 29
HHMI Click and Learn: Exploring Trophic Cascade - iPads

Friday March 30
Case Study - Coyote - Due 4/2

Monday April 2
Case Study - Mercury in Fish - Due 4/4

Tuesday April 3
Case Study - Mercery in Fish 

Wednesday April 4
Review

Thursday April 5
Unit 7A Test


Monday April 16
Unit 7A Review

Tuesday April 17
Unit 7A Test

Wednesday April 18
Intro to Biogeochemical Cycles
Case Study - The Poop on Composting - Due 4/20

Thursday April 19
Case Study - The Poop on Composting

Friday April 20
Ch. 13.5 Notes

Monday April 23
Biogeochemicals Reivew

Tuesday April 24
Ch. 13.5 Review

Wednesday April 25
Ch. 13.5 Test

Thursday April 26
Ecological Interactions Activity - Due 4/27
Ch. 14.1 Notes

Friday April 27
Ch. 14.2 Notes

Monday April 30
Ch. 14.3 & 14.4 Notes
Survival Curves Graphing Activity - Due 5/3
Population Density Activity - Due 5/3
Population Growth Activity - Due 5/3

Tuesday May 1
Population Growth Activity (cont.)
Survival Curve Graphing Activity (cont.)

Wednesday May 2
Bioman Web-quest Lab - Due 5/2

Thursday May 3
Grade Survival Curves, Population Density & Population Growth
Review

Friday May 4
Unit 7C (ch. 14) Test

Monday May 7
Ch. 10.1 &10.2 Notes
Evidence of Evolution Worksheet - Due 5/9

Tuesday May 8
Chapter 10.3

Wednesday May 9
Ch. 10.4
Investigation Bird Beak Adaptations Lab - Due 5/11

Thursday May 10
Anatomical Evidence of Evolution Lab - Due 5/11

Friday May 11
Review

Monday May 14
Unit 8 Test